The British Fantasy Society published the author's first work in 1995, a 3'000 word essay on fellow writer, Graham Masterton. In 1996, a chance meeting in a London docklands hotel at a BFS Convention with Matt Williams (and Graham Masterton - himself later in the same evening) eventually led to Ray's first big break: the 1998 publication of Manitou Man: The World of Graham Masterton, nominated for both the World and British Fantasy Awards. Success followed with a number of short stories in various magazines between 1998 and 2003.

2007 saw the author's first collection of short stories under the title of The Lord of Misrule and Other Stories, released by an American publisher. The following year, the self-publication of a stand-alone horror novel, Calix, a terrifying psychological, rollercoaster ride into the unknown using the Salem Witch Trials as its backdrop.

In 2009: Ray's short story, Promises To Keep made the final shortlist for the best short story award from The Tom Howard Foundation. The publication of Misrule 2: The Next Generation soon followed.

In 2010: the short story, Purple Rain was published in the American quarterly publication, Carpe Articulum: A Twist in the Taste was also published in a collection by The English Heritage, entitled, Whitby Abbey: Pure Inspiration (available at Amazon and most leading retailers).

In 2012: The Priest's Hole, a horror novel published by Damnation Books in the U.S. Available as a paperback and a variety of electronic versions.

2012: Canadian publisher, Double Dragon Press, re-released Calix with new artwork, both electronically and in paperback.

2013: Canadian Publisher, Double Dragon published A Devil's Dozen, a collection of short horror stories.

2014: a new crossover novel entitled Seven Secrets from U.S. Publisher, Damnation Books.

2015: a second short story collection entitled, A Detective's Dozen, from Canadian publisher, Double Dragon.

2016: the first in the author's IMP crime series set in Leeds featuring Detectives Gardener and Reilly, entitled Impurity, from U.S. Publisher, Caliburn Press.

2017: Imperfection: the second in the IMP crime thriller series from Urbane Publications, featuring D.I. Gardener and D.S. Reilly

2018: Implant: the third in the IMP crime thriller series from Urbane Publications, featuring D.I. Gardener and D.S. Reilly.

2019: Ryder On The Storm: a stand-alone cross genre novella from IMPulse Press, featuring Desk Sergeant Maurice Cragg from Seven Secrets and Implant.


Ray Clark - 2019


Copyright © Ray Clark 2019